Each state has different laws regarding auto owner’s insurance including what type of insurance drivers are required to carry. Colorado has its own set of laws regarding auto insurance that you may not be aware of even if you’ve lived in the state your entire life. Denver-based attorney Mitchel S. Drantch put the laws into perspective with an overview of Colorado auto owner’s insurance and the law.
Liability coverage protects you in the event that you cause damage to someone else or someone else’s property and also protects you of you’re injured by someone else’s negligence on the road. The minimum amount liability can cover in the state of Colorado is $25,000 per person, or at least $50,000 for two or more people injured in an accident, and $15,000 for property liability coverage. Property liability covers damage to objects and other vehicles.
All drivers in Colorado must carry uninsured motorist (UM) coverage unless they have a reason not to in writing. UM coverage lets motorists and accident victims pursue damages through their own insurance company if the party is involved in an accident with a motorist who doesn’t carry any insurance.
Colorado is one of the only states to require mandatory medical payment coverage and has been requiring Colorado drivers to do so since 2009. Motorists must have medical payment coverage with a minimum of $5,000 per person, per accident. In Colorado, medical payment insurers are prohibited from seeking reimbursement of this benefit.
No matter the types of coverage of auto insurance Colorado requires, getting more than the bare minimum is one of Drantch’s top recommendations. The Auto Injury Law Office encourages all motorists to pay into their policies as much as they can should something go wrong. An attorney can only do so much for you so have the right insurance plan in place before you find yourself seeking the help of a law office.
There is more to Colorado auto insurance than meets the eye and the Auto Injury Law Offices of Denver want to be certain anyone involved in an accident knows the ins and outs of the insurance process to they can get the best outcome. If you’re involved in a serious accident or received injuries from someone else’s driving negligence, Denver auto injury attorney Drantch recommends you call an auto injury law attorney right away.